CM, 11 others take oath in Himachal Pradesh

Adjust Comment Print

The party had practically swept the election, winning 44 of the state's 68 seats.

Following Dhumal's defeat, Nadda appeared to be the obvious choice for chief minister but suddenly, five-time MLA from Seraj assembly constituency, Jai Ram raced to the frontline.

Mahinder Singh, 67, is the senior-most minister in the new cabinet while 46-year-old Rajiv Saizal is the youngest.

Jairam Thakur being sworn-in as Himachal Pradesh chief minister.

While Thakur and seven others took oath in Hindi, Suresh Bharadwaj and Govind Thakur took oath in Sanskrit.

A day after being named as the new chief minister of Himachal Pradesh, the CM deignate Jai Ram Thakur on Monday got into action mode making visits to the Raj Bhawan and to hospitals and reviewing arrangements for the swearing in ceremony on Wednesday.

Pit bull attack leaves Kentucky woman dead, husband injured
Lorraine Saylor was putting bird seed out in her yard at her Kentucky home Sunday when she was mauled by the two pit bulls. Her husband, Johnny Saylor, rushed outside to help only to be attacked by the dogs as well, according to WKRN.

Bindal was named as the Speaker of the assembly. He is the only Minister to be sworn in from Shimla district, which is the third largest district after Kangra and Mandi, but is a stronghold of the Congress. When the assembly elections were announced without BJP projecting a chief ministerial face, supporters of Dhumal and Union health minister J P Nadda projected them as chief ministerial candidates.

Others who took the oath include Mahendra Singh, Kishan Kapoor, Suresh Bhardwaj, Anil Sharma, Sarveen Choudhary, Ram Lal Markanda, Virender Kanwar.

The BJP had won 20 seats in Kangra and Mandi districts and also won 13 out of 17 seats reserved for Scheduled Castes and two out of three Scheduled Tribe seats. He also held the post of Himachal Pradesh BJP president between 2007 and 2009.

Apart from the PM Modi and Rajnath Singh, the central ministers likely to attend the ceremony comprise Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Nitin Gadkari, Thawar Chand Gehlot while chief ministers likely to grace the occasion are Yogi Adityanath, Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Dr Raman Singh, Vasundhara Raje, Manohar Lal Khattar, Trivendra Singh Rawat, Pema Khandu, Vijay Rupani, N Biren Singh, Devendra Fadnavis, Raghubar Das and Sarbananda Sonowal.

Later, the Chief Minister designate also met the blood donors in the blood donation camp organised by Umang Foundation at Ridge.