Trump travel ban expires Sunday; new restrictions expected

Adjust Comment Print

Come October 18, nationals of Chad, Iran, Libya, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen, Somalia, and North Korea will be more-or-less be barred entrance to the United States. Starting Sept. 1, the Trump administration has barred Americans from traveling to the North, after a US student was sent home in a coma and later died after more than a year in detention in the North.

Most of the nations affected by the ban were part of an original travel ban on Muslim countries that Trump authorized shortly after taking office.

In an email to Reuters, Saikrishna Prakash, a professor at the University of Virginia School of Law, said that this may make the new version of the ban more hard to fight in court, because it explicitly claims to be based on a global review of foreign countries' security capabilities. "We will admit those into our country we can not safely wet", he added. My highest obligation is to ensure the safety and security of the American people, and in issuing this new travel order, I am fulfilling that sacred obligation.

The Supreme Court has canceled oral arguments on President Donald Trump's travel ban and refugee ban - originally scheduled for October 10 - as both sides of the case work to file briefs on the impact of a new immigration order from the Trump administration, issued Sunday. However, the restrictions for Venezuela apply only to government officials and their immediate families. But the new proclamation removed restrictions that were placed on Sudan.

The Sunday proclamation could be less vulnerable to legal attack, scholars and other experts said, because it is the result of a months-long analysis of foreign vetting procedures by US officials.

The restrictions are targeted at countries that the Department of Homeland Security says fail to share sufficient information with the US or haven't taken necessary security precautions.

Tillerson: Trump open to Paris climate deal 'under the right conditions'
In the interim, Trump has said he hopes to renegotiate an accord "on terms that are fair to the United States". Just hours earlier, the White House denied reports about remaining in the Paris deal.

In response to being added to the list, Venezuela accused Trump of conducting "political terrorism" by imposing travel restrictions.

Johnathan Smith, legal director of the advocacy group Muslim Advocates, also slammed the measure as the "same Muslim ban" and an attempt "to undermine our Constitution". Trump during his campaign called for a "total and complete shutdown of Muslims entering the United States".

Most citizens of Chad, Libya and Yemen will be blocked from emigrating to or visiting the United States because the countries do not have the technical capability to identify and screen their travelers, and in many cases have terrorist networks in their countries, officials said.

Citizens of Iran will not be eligible for tourism and business visas, but remain eligible for student and cultural exchange visas if they undergo additional scrutiny.

The new order expands to countries beyond just Muslim-majority ones.

"The fact that Trump has added North Korea - with few visitors to the US - and a few government officials from Venezuela doesn't obfuscate the real fact that the administration's order is still a Muslim ban", said Anthony D. Romero, executive director of the American Civil Liberties Union in a September 24 statement.