Pacers legend George McGinnis elected to Basketball Hall of Fame

Adjust Comment Print

The 2017 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame class will include Tracy McGrady, Bill Self and Rebecca Lobo, among others.

This year's Hall of Fame weekend with have a distinct UConn flair as Husky legend and former head men's basketball coach Dee Rowe was chosen by the Hall of Fame to receive the John W. Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award back in January. He was also named co-MVP during the 1974-1975 season.

A first time ballot inductee, Self is one of 11 new members of the Hall that will be enshrined in the Hall in Springfield, MA, for a ceremony later this fall.

Trump warns conservatives as tensions over health reform grow
The called age-based tax credits in the bill meant to help people buy medical insurance an unwise new federal entitlement. Plus, rewriting the bill to woo Freedom Caucus members led more Republican moderates to jump ship.

The Indianapolis native starred at Washington High School where he was named Mr. Basketball in 1969. He averaged 20.7 points and 9.8 rebounds in his career. McGinnis scored 20 or more points in 21 of his 24 college games, including an in record 14 times in a row.

He is one of four players to have their jersey number retired by the Pacers. After playing a year at IU, McGinnis joined the Pacers where he played a big role in the team winning the 1972 and 1973. He was a three-time ABA and NBA All-Star and was selected to the all-time ABA Team. He played with six teams, averaging 19.6 points, 5.6 rebounds, and 4.4 assists per game during his career.